Mid March Madness Update

By Jake Motto

The Round of 32 came to a conclusion on Sunday, March 18th leaving many brackets, including two of mine, destroyed. On the other hand, My third bracket is dominating the leaderboard.

This March is full of madness with sixteen seed UMBC crushing one seed Virginia by an astounding twenty points — the first time in history a sixteen seed has beaten a one seed. My future university Loyola Chicago, eleven seed, has been tearing it up with an insane buzzer beater over six seed Miami (FL) and a crazy win over three seed Tennessee.

Some other big upsets were Buffalo, thirteen seed, taking out Arizona, four seed, with a big twenty-one point win, Marshall, thirteen seed, barely scraping by Wichita State, four seed, and Florida State, nine seed, eliminating Xavier, one seed, out of the tournament. These games ruined a lot of people’s brackets.

march madness

I decided to make three brackets: one with teams I thought would win, one with higher ranked seeds and one autofilled at random. The autofilled one I hit random about twenty times and it turned out to be an amazing bracket, so far.

My random bracket has 490 points with an 100.0 PCT performance. My bracket isn’t perfect, PCT means the percentage of your performance graded against all other entrants in the game. This has been the best bracket I have ever made. The bracket is currently ranked 1,652nd out of 10+ million on ESPN.

I expect my bracket to be ranked lower after the sweet 16. Both UVA and UNC were in my elite 8, but they are already out, so I can’t get the points for two games. My final game consists of Kansas vs Gonzaga with Kansas as the champions. So, if all of you could wish me luck in the next coming weeks, it would greatly appreciated.

9 thoughts on “Mid March Madness Update

Leave a comment